Memorial Day was toasty in Tucson… I went out and drew myself a tree. A Mesquite Tree. Just drew for about an hour or so.

Arizona, Artwork, Beauchamp, Drawing, Illustration, Trees

Mesquite Tree

I brought out my Fountain Pen and started to draw. It is an interesting, gnarled, old texture that these trees take on with age. Bark strips peel off and follow the cross contour shape of the old tree. Back in the Eastern United States, Mesquite was always observed on Memorial Day. Back there it was wood chips that I’d soaked and then tossed on the fire before closing the lid of my Weber Charcoal Grill. Cooking a nice steak on a real hot fire with mesquite or hickory chips made for an awesome meal. Baked potatoes that were nicely browned would also pick up that great flavor.

While I was drawing, I saw something bounding down the road and then stopping. I swear this thing sure looked like a Grey Squirrel from the East? I had no idea what it really was. It sure looked like a Grey Squirrel with a less than optimal tail. Even up close it still looked like the squirrels from back East. Maybe one got hijacked here? It probably thinks pretty much the same as I do of the heat. 

So, I suppose in memory of those previously grilled holiday meals, I drew a mesquite that was still supporting itself. Somewhere, way off in the distance, mesquite smoke drifted into me that afternoon and it sure smelled real good. 

Today – Looking off toward the horizon this afternoon in every direction are my favorite clouds, the Cumulus. Will it storm? Who knows? Not me… Just the potential puts me in a good mood. Bring in on.

rumble

With Memorial Day passed us… just a part of Summertime.

Go draw a tree.

Leave a Reply

